Juliana Hatfield "Blood" *PRE-ORDER*

Catalog Number: ALR-0054
Release Date: 05/14/2021

Track List:
  1. The Shame Of Love
  2. Gorgon
  3. Nightmary
  4. Had A Dream
  5. Splinter
  6. Suck It Up
  7. Chunks
  8. Mouthful Of Blood
  9. Dead Weight
  10. Torture

BLOOD VIP BUNDLE *Only 250 Available*
1 x CD *Signed*
1 x Blood Red LP *Signed*
1 x Yellow & Purple Blend LP *Bundle Exclusive*
1 x Blood Slipmat
1 x Blood 27" x 40" Movie Poster (folded to 9" x 10")
1 x Blood 3" Iron-On Patch
1 x Blood 3" Decal
1 x Blood 2-pc 1" Button Set
1 x Blood Stylus Pen
1 x Blood Guitar Pick
1 x Download Card
1 x Early Shipment (1-Week Before All Other Pre-Orders)

“Blood” is Juliana’s 19th solo studio album of originals, and a deep dive into the dark side. The album is a brutal and critical look at modern human psychology and behavior; at personal and societal sickness. “I think these songs are a reaction to how seriously and negatively a lot of people have been affected by the past four years,” says Juliana. “But it’s fun, musically. There’s a lot of playing around. I didn’t really have a plan when I started this project.”

“Chunks” and “Had A Dream” are gritty and abrasive while “Mouthful of Blood” and “Gorgon” are groovy and ultra-melodic. All of it is eminently hummable and thought-provoking. Sophisticated but catchy. Challenging but danceable.

“I always love coming up with melodies and then trying to fit words into them—it’s like doing a puzzle,” says Juliana. “And I always find places to use the Mellotron flutes and strings, on every album, because those sounds are so beautiful to me. They are a nice counterpoint to the damaged lyrical content.”

The album was recorded largely at home—Juliana’s home in Massachusetts and recent collaborator Jed Davis’ home in Connecticut. “During self-isolation I took the opportunity to finally learn how to record into my laptop,” says Juliana, “and that’s how this album came to be. (Usually I work in a studio.) I did more than half the work in my room—with Jed helping me to troubleshoot the technology, and helping with building and arranging some of the songs--and then I finished up with additional overdubs and mixing with engineer James Bridges at Q Division Studios in Somerville, MA.”

*Pre-Orders ship on or about May 7th*

Enjoy the first single, available everywhere now.

LP Pressing Information:
Virgin Black (500 units)
Blood Red (500 units) *Label Exclusive*
Black w/Blood Red Splatter (350) *Indie Record Shop Exclusive*
Clear w/Blood Red Splatter (250) *Newbury Comics Exclusive*
Yellow & Purple Blend (250 units) *Bundle Exclusive*
Test Pressings (20 units)

Cassette Run Information:
White Cassette Shell (30 units)
Black Cassette Shell (35 units)
Yellow Cassette Shell (35 units) *Label Exclusive*
Test Cassette (6 units)

Cassettes and LP's include Digital Download Card (320 kbps MP3s)
Signed Copies will be signed on Front Cover
Tests will be signed directly on the Test Labels
All pre-orders include a free one-inch pin & 3" vinyl decal, while supplies last